Prof. Rajendra Shrestha delivers a talk on “Poverty alleviation in Thailand” at the International Conference of Global Poverty Reduction and Sustainable Development, Yunnan, organized by Alliance of Poverty Reduction and Development (APRD). The conference was organized to inaugurate the alliance on 16-18 November 2020.

APRD is an initiative under the Alliance of International Science Organizations (ANSO ) a non-profit, non- governmental international scientific organization founded in 2018 by the Chinese Academy of Sciences and 36 other international science and education institutions from around the world. ANSO is committed to promoting shared development, sustainable development and the advancement of the UN SDGs through catalyzing and implementing concrete international cooperation initiatives in Science, Technology & Innovation and Capacity Building.

The founding members of APRD include 15 universities, institutes and organizations, namely Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research at Chinese Academy of Sciences (China), The World Academy of Sciences (Italy), Institute of Rural and Agricultural Development at Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland), The University of Auckland (New Zealand), Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences Geographical Institute at Hungarian Academy of Sciences (Hungary), University of Guwahati (India), Asian Institute of Technology (Thailand), National Higher Education, Science, Research and Innovation Policy Council (Thailand), Sindh Agriculture University Tandojam (Pakistan), National University of Laos (Laos), City University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong, China), Kunming Branch Chinese Academy of Sciences, Pu’er Municipality (Yunnan Province, China), Lincang Municipality (Yunnan Province, China) and Yanchi county (Ningxia Autonomous Region, China). The executive committee members include the Prof. Yansui Liu, as the Chair from the Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research at Chinese Academy of Sciences; Prof. Monika Stanny from the Polish Academy of Sciences; Prof. Jie Zhou from the Kunming Branch Chinese Academy of Sciences; Prof. Rajendra P. Shrestha from the Asian Institute of Technology; Dr. Yuheng Li as the Secretary from the Chinese Academy of Sciences.